Eclipse Pres. Aron Wellman Re-Elected To Breeders’ Cup Board

Eclipse Pres. Aron Wellman Re-Elected To Breeders’ Cup Board

LEXINGTON, Ky. (June 9, 2020) – The Breeders’ Cup announced today that 19 individuals were elected to serve as Breeders’ Cup Members. Voting for the 2020 Member election by Breeders’ Cup 2019 foal and stallion nominators was concluded at 5:00 p.m. ET on June 8.

The following individuals, listed alphabetically, received the most votes of the Breeders’ Cup nominators to fill 19 Member seats. Each Member will serve a four-year term:

Conrad Bandoroff
Barbara Banke
James (Jimmy) G. Bell
Boyd Browning
Doug Cauthen
Craig Fravel
Eric Gustavson
Dr. Andreas Jacobs
W. Gray Lyster IV
Clem Murphy
Maria Niarchos-Gouazé
David O’Farrell
Bill Oppenheim
Bernie Sams
Alex Solis II
Oliver Tait
W. Elliott Walden
Barry Weisbord
Aron Wellman

“It is an honor to welcome our new and re-elected Members to serve with us over the next four years,” said Fred Hertrich III, Breeders’ Cup Chairman. “We look forward to their meaningful contributions, along with our other sitting Members, toward our efforts to further grow and expand the popularity of the Breeders’ Cup World Championships, improve the safety and integrity of our sport, and carry out the full mission of the Breeders’ Cup.”

The Breeders’ Cup Members are elected every other year by Breeders’ Cup foal and stallion nominators through a proportional voting system based on the level of nominations paid to the organization. There are a total of 39 elected Breeders’ Cup Members.

The Members meet each July and elect individuals to the Breeders’ Cup Board of Directors, which oversees the activities of the organization.

The online portion of the Breeders’ Cup Director election will begin on July 3 and conclude on July 10. The voting results will be announced following the annual meeting of the Breeders’ Cup Members on July 15.

Previous Post Next Post